Good Luck All In!?!

Luck BoxGood Luck All In!….I was dealing tonight at Sonny’s Game and I must have heard this 100 times (average 3 people per all in). Why do people say this?…they don’t mean it at all and actually wish the opposite. They want the person to go out, that is the whole point of a poker tournament.

I know for a fact most of those players get very angry if you don’t check it down in an all-in pot. Even if you are no where near the money. My view on that is you check it down if there is no side pot or you are on the bubble  and think the other player has the best hand and a chance to knock out the all in player. I think you can bet, if a player is all in, if there is a side pot and/or you have a hand that fairs well against the all in player but you don’t want the other player to draw out on you or of course you have the nuts.

Anyways the Tips were good tonight even though the tourney seamed to last forever as no one wanted to go out when we were down to 2 tables. I have never dealt the 500/1000 and this tourney went to the 1000/2000 level before we went to the final table of 9.

I also had a situation where 2 players knocked out one player in a split pot. Since there is a $5 bounty I thought the bounty should go to the out of position player, closest to the button, just like the odd chip in a split pot. Then I asked sonny and he said give it to the dealer I was all for that but I wanted to know the house ruling for future situations. I looked it up and this is what I found.

• Bounties are never split! If a bounty player is eliminated by two or more players who split the pot, the bounty is awarded to the winning player with the largest stack. If the stacks are equal, the winning player closest to the button receives the bounty.

I guess according to this stack size is criteria 1 then the position takes effect I guess I need to ask Sonny and the other players how they want to handle it in the future.

All in all I had a good night and was still done by 11pm to find out the Spurs had won and advanced to the 2nd round of the playoffs. Go! Spurs GO!….and……Good Luck All In!!!