TKE House Fundraiser 3

I visited my Alma mater Sam Houston State last weekend for my fraternity annual Big Bamboo Bash Party. The party was on Friday night and had planned a poker tournament fundraiser for Saturday. The best time would be in the late afternoon but we had to reschedule around the NFL Draft that was going to start at 3pm and run all day. We decided to start at 12:30pm and make it a turbo that would end around 3pm.

tke-poker-tourney2

Well the party was fun and of course with late night drinking comes hangovers. We also had a 10am meeting saturday morning that ran late so with the combination of that, an early start and the draft the tournament was cut from 2 tables to 5 players.

The Players were J.D. , Chavo, Padilla, Flounder and myself. We started with 2500 in chips with 15min blinds of 25/50 and rebuys for the 1st 3 levels. We also decided to play winner takes all. Padilla was getting lunch so he was being blinded out but that didn’t stop the rest of us from getting in some big hands. Chavo and flounder were involved in a big hand with a board of 73Q Flounder shows KQ and Chavo shows a set of 7s that hold up for the win and Flounder has to rebuy.  A few hands later JD limps in from UTG and it is folded to me in the BB and I look at AA and raise JD min raises me and then i make a 3rd raise and JD calls. the flop is all low cards and I shove and JD calls for less and shows KK. I win and JD is forced to rebuy. We get to the break and everyone adds on for 4ooo in chips.

Now the blinds are at 200/400 and the chip average is 7500. with the blinds being high people started to get involved in big pots right away. Padilla made a move from the SB with Q9 when the flop came all low cards but Flounder called with AK high and eliminated Padilla. a few hands later Chavo raised with a weak Ace Preflop and was called by JD. Chavo pushed when an Ace hit the board but JD called with a better kicker and Chavo was out next. Chavo blames his performance on the draft starting at 3pm even though he went out around 2pm.

chavos-table

Now 3 handed i had about 15-20% of the chips in play so I pushed whenever i picked up an A or saw a flop and hit or had a draw. I ended up building up to about 12000 after a few all ins vs JD.  JD hit Flounder for a big pot when his AK beat Flounders QQ and a few hands later  Flounder was gone.

Heads up I was down 4-1 in chips i got it to about even when the blinds were at 1500/3000. JD raised from the BB to 6k I reraised all in from the BB for 9k more.  I showed AK and JD had QT, whoever won this hand was going to win the tourney and I was a 3/2 favorite but when the flop came down J98 i was pretty much drawing dead. JD took the pot and won the tourney.

With the blind structure and payout I had to play the way I did and being hungover and tired I think i played well.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

