Expensive Lesson

I get to big dogs to be the Tourney Director for the Wed tourney. I hate being the TD because I only get paid $75 for 4 hours of work and miss time dealing cash so this is a neg EV day for me. I get the tourney started and the cash game from Tuesday night is still going on while the 9 table tourney gets started.

Tony is running around still crunching #s from the weeks take. SO I sit in his seat in the $5/$5 game. I look at a few hands and fold. I look down and I get KK in middle position and decide I can win him a pot. I raise to $30 and get 5 callers. on the flop I bet $50 om a Q54 rainbow board and get 1 caller. I check the turn when a 9 comes off and the LAG player bets $125 I call trying to keep the pot small. The river is a blank and he goes all in for $275. He makes a comment that I shouldn’t lose Tony’s money so I think he is bulling me so I make the call. He shows 55 for a flopped set. Nice Hand!!!

The way it works is if you play someones chips you have to pay them back, So I am out $500. I was thinking about it all that night even if I win that pot there is no guarantees he would give me any of that $ and by me playing and dealing even if I win I am pissing off potential tippers.

So my new policy is I play my chips and only my chips if someone is not in their seat i will look at their hands but muck all hands even AA. It was an expensive lesson but from now on the only money I gamble is my own.